Angry Birds Birthday Party!

My son was inspired by the Angry Birds game to have an Angry Birds birthday party. It was a wild success. He helped me some pre-party-prep, he and his baby brother stuffed 17 Angry Birds. (I used the pattern created by Care at Obsessively Stitching it is a fantastic tutorial and so easy to follow!) I ran out of time and didn’t get all the beaks put on, when I get them I’ll post the full line-up.
Even though he discovered them that morning he was still excited to open them for the first game of the day. C’s cousin was patiently waiting for his turn at Angry Bird, Angry Bird, Pig!
The second game was shoot an Angry bird at a pig. We only had 2 AB’s hit their target, but it was fantastic to hear the birds shatter on the ground or the fence. C was all over the sling shot and had some great shots.

We then played dodge bird. I must admit that I was greatly impressed. C won one game and was the last standing in the remaining two games. I guess his t-ball practice is paying off.

Lastly we hit the King Pig with a noodle. I made the bird targets/piñata the day before from paper máché. If I do that again I’ll make it a week before and do a few layers, This was too fragile to hit with a bat, but the noodle showed creativity (to see how the kids would hit it) and still got the job done.

This boy was my favorite of all to watch. He kept saying “Die pig! Die!” He is also one of the most gentile and kind-hearted kids I know, that just made his death-clamations so much more entertaining. 

C wanted cupcakes. I was a bit crafted out so I took a shortcut and I love how these turned out.I made sugar cookies (black bird, blue bird, red bird, mustache pig and the golden egg) and flooded them with royal icing to make the birds. I should have taken a picture of them before they were bagged, but I forgot. I also didn’t get a picture of the red bird…sad! He is my favorite of the birds. These were the “Angry birds” that we shot out of the sling shot. There were 72 eggs that I hollowed out over the month and then spray painted AB colors. 

About RedKiwiDIY

I am a Mormon. I am a wife. I am a mom. I am a daughter. I am a sister. I am a friend. I am an individual. I enjoy creating. Children, food, tables, gingerbread houses, gardens, homes, quilts, and everything in between. I love the act and result of creating beautiful things. I mess these creation up, frequently. I still love them and I learn from each mistake. Join me on this journey of learning and growing.
This entry was posted in My Kids and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.