Ben’s Shorts

This was made for my baby sister Amanda, for Christmas. I based the quilt around one print. Its houndstooth from the 1980’s!
The border for this square is a tiny houndstooth made from old shorts. They belonged to my oldest brother. He passed away 18 years ago and my sister has held onto these ever since. She’s hoped to find a way to use them and handed them to me a few months ago. She wanted me to make something brilliant with them. I think it was a success, they look amazing in their new home with sweet owls and other fun b and w prints. She can’t wear the shorts, but she can snuggle in them.
I quilted some swirls in the white space and quilted some more random designs within the squares.
I think she liked it. I like it.
About RedKiwiDIY

I am a Mormon. I am a wife. I am a mom. I am a daughter. I am a sister. I am a friend. I am an individual. I enjoy creating. Children, food, tables, gingerbread houses, gardens, homes, quilts, and everything in between. I love the act and result of creating beautiful things. I mess these creation up, frequently. I still love them and I learn from each mistake. Join me on this journey of learning and growing.
This entry was posted in Sewing Gift and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.